What is Cuil Fiction or the Cuilverse, Anyway?

What Exactly is Cuil Fiction?

The name of integrated works that stem from The Black Tree series is called The Cuil Effect. Why? Because cuil theory is fantastic and absurdand yet still ties together just like life.

Just as intersectional feminism acknowledges and branches out from the reality that systems of oppression, privilege, and power dynamics are integrated, so does cuil fiction acknowledge this facet about life, the universe, and everything within literature.

Cuil Levels:

A cuil level is assigned to each work. These range from level one to level seven. Each level is progressively further removed from reality as we know it. Cuil Levels are from 1-6 and in ascending order for the amount of craziness/presence of surreality/ratio of queer/disabled/POC to straight/cis/able-bodied people. And Level 0 is downright bizarre and uncomfortable for everyone, including me.

Then there is level zero, which is so far removed it actually circles around and reflects reality and cuil reality. In general, the higher the cuil level the more absurd, impossible, and insane the events. Basically, it’s like the books are ranked from realistic fiction to anime-level creativity and insanity.

What the hell does that mean?

Basically, cuil fiction is intersectional fiction. That means stories about intersex, POC, pansexual, women, gender variant, ace, aromantic, autistic, disabled, kinky people and all others normally marginalized, ignored, or misrepresented in media are centered without explanation or angst.

For more information, go here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s